What to Expect at the 2017 President’s Cup

Well, the regular golf season and the playoffs have ended, which means there’s just one tournament left- and it’s a good one! Today, some of the best golfers in the world will compete in teams for the President’s Cup!

The schedule for the event includes: five matches of Foursomes on day one, five Fourball matches on day two, four Foursome matches in the morning and four Fourball matches in the afternoon, on day three, and finally, on day four, there will be 12 Singles matches.

The Course

Liberty National Golf Course, in Jersey City, NJ, opened a little over 11 years ago. Two of it’s holes are just 1,000 yards or less from the Statue of Liberty!

The land this course was built on was actually once the location of ammunition during World War I, and at one point, also for toxic waste. Because of this, it cost $250,000,000 to complete the course!

So far, aside from this weekend’s President’s Cup, the only major tournaments this 72 par course has held is The Barclays back in 2009 & then again in 2013. However, it is set to host the 2019 and 2022 Northern Trust Tournaments (the new name of The Barclays).



This Year’s Teams

The USA Captain, Steve Stricker has selected Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, and Fred Couples as his Captain’s Assistants this year! The International Team’s Captain is Nick Price, who’s selected Ernie Els, Tony Johnstone, and Geoff Ogilvy to assist.

In the pictures above, you can see the USA (left) and International (right) teams’ uniforms. Here are the official 2017 President’s Cup teams!

  • United States Team

    • Dustin Johnson
    • Jordan Spieth
    • Justin Thomas
    • Daniel Berger
    • Rickie Fowler
    • Brooks Koepka
    • Kevin Kisner
    • Matt Kuchar
    • Patrick Green
    • Kevin Chappell
    • Phil Mickelson
    • Charley Hoffman
  • International Team

    • Hideki Matsuyama
    • Jason Day
    • Adam Scott
    • Louis Oosthuisen
    • Charl Schwartzel
    • Marc Leishman
    • Branden Grace
    • Jhonattan Vegas
    • Si Woo Kim
    • Adam Hadwin
    • Anirban Lahiri
    • Emiliano Grillo


Tournament History

For the past six years, the USA team has taken home the victory. In fact, out of the 11 times this tournament has taken place, the International team has only won once, and another year there was a tie. Here’s some information about the President’s Cup’s past five tournaments.

2015- Songdo, IBD, Korea

  • Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea
  • Captains: Jay Haas and Nick Price

2013- Ohio, USA

  • Muirfield Village Golf Club
  • Captains: Fred Couples and Nick Price

2011- Victoria, Australia

  • Royal Melbourne Golf Club
  • Captains: Greg Norman and Fred Couples

2009- California, USA

  • TPC Harding Park
  • Captains: Greg Norman and Fred Couples

2007- Quebec, Canada

  • Royal Montreal Golf Club
  • Captains: Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player


Weather Forecast

It’s lookin’ like a clear, beautiful weekend!


  • High of 78, Low of 54
  • Partly Cloudy
  • 0% Chance of rain
  • NNW 16 mph Winds


  • High of 72, Low of 57
  • Sunny
  • 0% Chance of rain
  • NW 6 mph Winds


  • High of 66, Low of 53
  • Partly Cloudy
  • 20% Chance of rain
  • N 10 mph Winds


  • High of 71, Low of 55
  • Sunny
  • 0% Chance of rain
  • NNE 7 mph Winds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *