Should Tom Kite Have Been Given An Exception?

This Caveman has been hearing a lot of debate lately about the exceptions for this year’s US Open. Should Tom Watson have received the exception? The other Tom missed the US Open by one qualifying stroke, so why didn’t he get an exception? Fly Yo Kite

I went and did some investigating for you Rock Heads. As it Turns out there are 17 “rules” to getting an exception for the Open:

  • Winners of the U.S. Open Championship the last 10 years (2000-2009)
  • Winner and runner-up of the 2009 U.S. Amateur Championship (must be an amateur)
  • Winners of the Masters Tournament the last five years (2006-2010)
  • Winners of the British Open Championship the last five years (2005-2009)
  • Winners of the PGA of America Championship the last five years (2005-2009)
  • Winners of the 2010 Players Championship the last three years (2008-2010)
  • Winner of the 2009 U.S. Senior Open Championship
  • 15 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 15th place at the 2009 U.S. Open Championship
  • Top 30 money leaders from the 2009 final official PGA Tour money list
  • Those qualifying for the season-ending 2009 Tour Championship
  • Top 15 money leaders from the 2009 final official PGA European Tour money list
  • Top 10 money leaders from the 2010 official PGA Tour money list, through May 24 (must have filed an entry by April 28)
  • Any multiple winner of PGA co-sponsored events whose victories are considered official from June 21, 2009, through June 13, 2010
  • Top five money leaders from the 2010 official PGA European Tour money list, through May 24
  • Top two money leaders from the 2009 final official Japan Golf Tour money list, provided they are within the top 75 point leaders of the World Ranking at the end of the year
  • Top two money leaders from the 2009 final official PGA Tour of Australia money list, provided they are within the top 75 point leaders of the World Ranking at the end of the year
  • Top 50 point leaders from the current World Ranking, as of May 24
  • Any player whom the USGA selects for an exemption on the basis of his playing record (must have filed an entry by April 28) (This one here pretty much makes all the other rules pointless)

This left my question pretty well un-answered. Both Tom’s have been victorious at Pebble Beach, but Tom Watson did really well in the last Major, while Tom Kite has also only won 1 Senior Circuit event in the last 4 years.

What do you think Rock Heads? Should Tom Kite have gotten an exception as well?


~Scratch

 
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Get Your Mizuno MP20 Irons Now At RBG!