A Quick Look at the 2018 John Deere Classic

A Quick Look at the 2018 John Deere Classic

This week the PGA Tour stops in Silvis, Illinois for the John Deere Classic at TPC Deere Run. Last year Bryson DeChambeau earned his first PGA Tour victory at this event.

John Deere Classic History

The TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois hosts The John Deere Classic. The event is typically played in July, one week prior to The Open Championship.

The event began in 1971 under the name Quad Cities Open. At the time the event was considered a “satellite event,” but in 1972 it became an official PGA Tour event. During the years from 1975 – 1979, Ed McMahon served as the tournament host. Also, the title sponsorship has changed a few times over the years: Miller Brewing Company (1982-1985), Hardee’s (1986-1994) and John Deere (1999-Present). Historically, 3 courses hosted even, Crow Valley Country Club (1971-1974), Oakwood Country Club (1975-1999) and TPC Deere Run (2000-Present).

In 2005 and 2006, Michelle Wie received a sponsor exemption to compete in the event. Also in 2005, Sean O’Hair won the event, qualifying for The Open the following week, the victory also helped Sean earn the 2005 PGA Tour Rookie of the Year. Furthermore, in 2013, Jordan Spieth won this event, becoming the first teenager to win a PGA Tour event since 1931. A key feature of this event is that the top 5 finishers automatically qualify for The Open.

“A Challenge”

In 2012, Bob Harig, ESPN golf columnist, called the event “a challenge.” He noted that Illinois is 6 time zones behind the United Kingdom where The Open takes place. Another noted difference is in the style of the golf course, as The Open is played on a Links styled course while TPC Deere is radically different. As a result, Harig stated that the players who participate in the John Deere Classic “are missing acclimation time. And practice time on a unique golf course, a style that few play regularly.” Starting in 2008, the John Deere Classic has sponsored a charter flight that leaves on Sunday night and arrives in the UK on Monday.

The Course TPC Deere Run

TPC Deere Run was designed by D.A Weibring in association with PGA Tour Design Services. The course plays 7,258 yards (6,637 m) and it is a Par 71. The course record is 59, it was shot by Paul Goydos at the John Deere Classic in 2010.

TV Guide & Round 1. Pairings

  • 7:40 a.m. — Patton Kizzire, Fabian Gomez, Nick Watney (Off #1)
  • 7:50 a.m. — Aaron Wise, Si Woo Kim, Harold Varner III (Off #10)
  • 7:50 a.m. — Chris Stroud, Aaron Baddeley, William McGirt (Off #1)
  • 8:00 a.m. — Wesley Bryan, Zach Johnson, Steve Stricker (Off #10)
  • 12:30 p.m. — Scott Stallings, Rory Sabbatini, Ricky Barnes (Off #1)
  • 12:40 p.m. — Danny Lee, Ben Crane, Trey Mullinax (Off #1)
  • 12:50 p.m. — Chris Kirk, Bill Haas, Brian Gay (Off #10)
  • 1:10 p.m. — Bryson DeChambeau, Ryan Moore, Davis Love III (Off#1)

Thursday – 4:00 – 7:00 p.m – Golf Channel

Friday – 4:00 – 7:00 p.m – Golf Channel

Saturday – 1:00 – 2:45 – Golf Channel – 3:00 – 6:00 p.m – CBS Sports

Sunday – 1:00 – 2:45 – Golf Channel – 3:00 – 6:00 p.m – CBS Sports

Photo Gallery

2018 John Deer Classic 2018 John Deere Classic 2018 John Deere Classic 2018 John Deere Classic

2018 John Deere Classic

2018 John Deere Classic 2018 John Deere Classic


Want to play the same irons as 2017 John Deere Classic Bryson DeChambeau? Make sure you come by our website for Cobra One Length Irons.


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *